Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Professional mix engineer; wanted to take a crack at one of these "mixing challenges"
Hey guys,

I've been working around studios ever since I graduated college. I freelance mix in studios as a side job, and (hopefully) my mixes are already at a professional level!

Tell me what you think Wink

.mp3    mixpracticeMASTER.mp3 --  (Download: 6.84 MB)

Welcome to this Awesome Site !
Nice mix I like it ,one minor thing can hear some intermittent resonances with the bass and kick on some bass notes .
Cheers Big Grin

Please Help Mike Keep This Awesome Educational Site Alive And Become A patron !
https://www.patreon.com/CambridgeMT/posts

Hey Ikura!
Great vocals and guitar!
For me, this mix is too compressed. Especially the drums. I don't think that they're playing along with the other instruments.
I would change the bass by cutting some mid frequencies, and maybe lower a db or so. It stands out too much for me.
I also feel that there's no room to breathe. Everything seem to be pushed in your face most of the song. Have you pushed a limiter too hard maybe? Or it might be the overall compression.
I would cut some highs from the tambourine in the choruses.
Other than that, your mix sounds really good! Keep it up!
(10-06-2018, 11:44 AM)Bangbang Wrote: Hey Ikura!
Great vocals and guitar!
For me, this mix is too compressed. Especially the drums. I don't think that they're playing along with the other instruments.
I would change the bass by cutting some mid frequencies, and maybe lower a db or so. It stands out too much for me.
I also feel that there's no room to breathe. Everything seem to be pushed in your face most of the song. Have you pushed a limiter too hard maybe? Or it might be the overall compression.
I would cut some highs from the tambourine in the choruses.
Other than that, your mix sounds really good! Keep it up!