Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My Burning Bridges Mix worked on for days
Hello Everyone,

I've been teaching myself how to mix for a couple months and liked this song enough to make it the first track hosted here to attempt. My personal preferences for Metal are rooted in the 80s and 90s. I am not a fan of the sterile, dry, and limited to death modern mixing styles that have become the norm for almost the last 15 years. It just boggles my mind that people think squashing everything with an L2 is supposed to be the pinnacle of audio quality.

To me Metal was never supposed to sound perfect and clean. It needs to be a tad raw, gritty, dynamic, and with a creative use of reverb so you can escape into the song.

Since I never mixed anything near this big before, I did a lot of trial and error but ended up with a sound I'm about 90% satisfied with. What I was looking for was something that grooved enough to make someone want to headbang, had a commanding drum sound, full guitars, guitar solos that really came alive, and vocals that were exciting and soared without being too squeaky clean. And I wanted things to be pretty balanced too.

Once I came up with an initial mix I kept listening to the bounced files and making little tweaks over a few days. Once I pay for the Waverider and Pro Q2 licenses now that my trials are about over, I will do some more tweaking. Fix some of the automation. Another plugin I've been looking at is the new Excalibur from Exponential. Once that comes out I will try it and hopefully it'll be awesome and I can use it here.

Automating plugins is not something I really know much about so far. On this track I noticed the ride cymbals are very in your face, so I turned them down. I would have definitely liked the crash cymbals to be on their own track because I would have put more of them in the mix.