Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Merrygold: Motherload
This is my second country song ever. My first one was many, many, many months ago; so I still think that I'm totally new to this genre. But anyway, one has to adapt himself to all styles... and this music is so exotic and appealing to me!!

So what do you think of this mix from a Spaniard?

.mp3    Merrygold - Motherload.mp3 --  (Download: 8.89 MB)

mixing since April 2013
What? They don't have Country in spain? Wink
Take that with a grain of salt as I'm not that experienced, but my first reaction was "man that acoustic guitar is thin", then "and so is the banjo", after a while when the band came in, I though it was better, but it might be my ears are playing tricks on me Wink
Apart from that, I quite like your vocal treatment, good job. Keep it up!
"Music, in performance, is a type of sculpture. The air in the performance is sculpted into something." - Frank Zappa

Some air moved here
no, we don't have country here but a lot of guitars and clapping Wink

I will check on the banjo and the guitar tomorrow with clean ears. I'm glad you liked the vocals Smile Thank you for your comments!!!
mixing since April 2013
Nice mix.....and I love the vocals on this too!

I know what patrick means about the intro sounding slightly thin. The banjo, snare and accordion are all fairly bright which only really leaves you acugtr and bass to play with.

Once the band comes in, particularly the male BGV, you get a lovely warmth to your mix from the low mid content.

As the bass isn't really playing that much during the intro, I think a lower HP of the AcuGtr could possibly help. You can always automate it so it doesn't mess with your balance later on when the band comes in.

From a purely personal point of view, you could maybe throw a bit more of a spotlight on the guitarist during the solo - poor guy is working his butt off and I'm struggling to hear him through the accordion and banjo Big Grin