Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Blue: Updated
Awesome song, this is my kind of music.

Difficult to balance due to the midrange heavy arrangement with not much high end to work with, but on the first pass mix here it seems I'm getting some decent results. Shelf EQ and a gated reverb helped boost the highs on the drums, but neither helps much with the vocal, so the breathy sound is the result of a savagely EQ'd and de-essed distortion send.

Patrick mentioned on Alan's thread that there's some tonal inconsistency in the vocal track since it's comped together from multiple takes, and that'll be obvious enough in this mix because I haven't addressed it yet... want to see how the community feels about the balance so far before I go down that long and perilous road.

Somewhere down the line I might add a guitar solo? You guys hear me yapping all the time that I'm a musician, and this is smack in the middle of my comfort zone, so might as well. The arrangement could use a little some extra to give it some variety, I think.

.mp3    Blue Master.mp3 --  (Download: 10.11 MB)

I'm grateful for comments and suggestions. Thank you for listening!
Hey pauli! Glad you like the song. There's 3 more coming next month that I think you will like as well. Smile
I hope you don't mind me telling you how I see the song. Of course this is just hints and I'm happy to hear your take on it, that's the whole idea behind sharing these tracks. I know that I wanted the whole mix to be drowned in delays because I wanted to achieve a dreamy/hypnotic-like quality in the sound.

Now I like the balance of the drums in your mix, although I think the cymbals are a bit loud at times.
Actually, I think the drums overall are too loud compared to the rest of the instrumentation.