Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mikes Mix
Hi guys, Im new here!

Here is a mix I did of this tune. Just to mention Im new to mixing so apologies if bits stick out. Im gonna keep practising!

Thanks

.mp3    Traffic Experiment-Once More (with feeling)mp3.mp3 --  (Download: 9.05 MB)

If you're new to mixing, then you've got a lot to be proud of here already! There's a bit of a low mid-range bulge in the overall tonality that makes the whole production sound slightly woolly to me, but a couple of decibels of buss EQ low cut remedies most of that so it's not a huge deal.

I like what you've done with the bass and drums in a general sense. You could perhaps put less 150Hz on the bass (because it feels like it's resonating there and imbalancing the line) and maybe try to tame a bit of the ride stick noise from the overheads, but those aren't big things either. A bit more low end and overall level to the snare too? Maybe. That timing moment I mentioned in my comments about uzilevi's mix apply here too.

I like your vision for most of the other backing instruments too, although I'd probably give the piano a bit more HF definition myself, and the electric guitars feel maybe a bit too forward in the overall texture, whether that's because of a richness in the upper midrange or from less blending effects I'm not sure. I wonder whether those electrics would also benefit from a moderate boost at around 600Hz too, as they do seem to come off a bit thin most of the time (a problem I've always had with the preview mix). You'd probably have to clear some room for them out of the piano, though, if you did that... it's inevitably a case of 'swings and roundabouts' with so many parts competing for attention!