Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ben Carrigan: 'Hey Carrie Anne'
Reverb is a major key. Study nothing but verb for a month and experiment with it.
Then move on to something else like eq for a month and experiment .
I have mixed and done study for a minimum of 10 hours a day for 18 months,in another 5 years I might be getting somewhere. In the mixing game I am a pretty much a noob even with the hours I spend.
It has to be done.
(01-08-2014, 10:38 PM)takka360 Wrote: Pauli thought there was too much low end in the vox ,I disagree .
Technically I agree with Pauli, but from the point of view of experience I prefer your extra full vocal sound. Just listen Bob Dylan's old "I threw it all away". There Dylan's vocal sound is technically too muffled, dark and everything, but at the same time it has some odd quality that it keeps staying on my list of "most vibey songs". As I heard some special emotional qualities in your mix, I stopped making technical notes. (While I was making my own mix the only emotion that I had in the end was a huge irritation. Hopefully it's not too audible in my mix)

(01-08-2014, 10:38 PM)takka360 Wrote: Ps I don't give in easy.
I've seen and heard that.
Low end in the vocals is a matter of taste for sure, and I like both approaches. More low end certainly makes the vocal sound closer and more intimate, and of itself it sounds quite nice in Alan's mix. Mostly I wasn't thinking in technical terms, though... My opinion was that it felt odd to have the vocal so close and up front with an orchestra behind him. To me it makes sense to sink it into the mix just a little more. An example of what I mean is in some of the new work from Lana del Rey, although in that case the orchestra is synthy sounding.