Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I'm frustrated and I need help
I graduated from Full Sail in 2019. Since then, I have been trying to become a professional mix engineer, but I always feel like my work isn't good enough. I never listen to my mixes and think "wow, I did good". I'm always thinking that something feels wrong about it, but I've heard the song so many times that I've lost grip on all reality and can't figure it out. Even the mix I did for this song is not perfect and I know that from the bottom of my heart. There is stuff wrong with this, and it drives me crazy that I can't just get it right in a reasonable amount of time without revising it for months and checking my car back and forth 100 times. I tried to only spend about 1-2 days on this. I'd love to start my own recording studio in Charleston, SC (that's where I live), but I'm so afraid that artists are going to notice that my mixes aren't up to the standard it needs to be.
Any feedback might help, thanks!

.mp3    Daimon B - Another Life - v1 (1.13.24).mp3 --  (Download: 9.03 MB)

Ok. I’ll dive into this even though I maybe one of the worst people on here. I delete 90% of my mixes because I hate them, but, I have some experience with working with clients and confidence and all that.

I tend to write a lot so I’m going to be fairly terse. You need confidence to mix. Like pretty much anything. Don’t get into a car with someone who isn’t confident to drive.