Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Actions - Devil´s Word´s Mix/Master
So this is my first time mixing recorded "real instrument" music, usually i produce/mix electronic music.
I wanted to challenge myself, and try something different, maybe learn some new things whilst doing.
Feedback is appreciated.

Did a revision with a fresh set of ears, some minor tweaks and overall frequency cleanup.

.mp3    Mixdown Practice 23.mp3 --  (Download: 7.47 MB)

.mp3    Mixdown Practice REV1.mp3 --  (Download: 7.47 MB)

I did another revision because i got hold of some new tools, also letting the mix sit for a while and come back at a later time is always a good thing for me.
I also referenced against some other Punkpop songs, and against my older versions of course.
I was able to better control some of the energy that i injected in the first place trough some adjustments on the limiting of the drums.
Further frequency cleaning on vocals bass and guitars.
The overall gain from these things is a bit less push into the masterchain, which results in a more open and less aggressive master.
Maybe i will try mixing it in a different vibe in the future

Revision No. 3

Upon the feedback i got from leon_hardy
i sat down again, and changed the following:

removed some bloat on the bass guitar, gave the overheads a bit more room to breathe, sidechained the midfrequencyband of the chorus guitars to the leadvocal, so the vocal is not overpowered by the guitars in the chorus sections

Mix/Masterbus: lowered the low-mid frequency band on the Pro-MB by a small amount, added Gullfoss with a bit of Tame and Recovery to further smooth out the overall frequency balance

.mp3    Mixdown Practice REV2.mp3 --  (Download: 7.47 MB)

.mp3    Mixdown Practice REV3.mp3 --  (Download: 7.47 MB)

Hi Flowie! Great balance and energy in your mix, the guitars sound so full and punchy, exactly what this song needs in my opinion.