Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
"Pennies" Mix from a n00b...
So here's my take on "Pennies".

First, I wanna point out that I'm a total n00b when it comes to audio engineering. That said, I was not completely unaware of the recording process and I've got a pretty good head on my shoulders. My ear is well trained for detail because I've been playing one instrument or another both alone and in groups since I was a kid (I'm now a fraction over the 40 mark). I started taking classes at the local community college ad the end of August 2013 and had never even seen a DAW until January of this year when I started learning protools. Let me say that I have had some very good instructors! Not having $600 to spend (plus plugins!) I bought a copy of Sonar X3 Studio (using my student ID to drop the price down a fair piece) and that's what I mixed this in, using nothing but what Cakewalk supplied with the package.

Oh, and a reminder to the other folks submitting mixes. When looking at a drum kit, please do not forget to examine phasing. You do not know if it was corrected to tape or left as is. This one was as-is. I had to flip the top snare (the bottom mic receives the first in-phase impuse so I consider that the central reference and judge the rest of the mics based on that) and the room mics. I note this because the last mix I listened to had a very thin ringy snare sound and that's what I've discovered happend when I was working on a school project back in early April so figured I'd point that out.

Now, my comments about my mix...