Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
PHK Mix: Umphrey's McGee - Crucial Taunt
Hey. This is my attempt, using Cubase AI Elements 7, no samples and no automations. Any comments and criticisms are welcome. Thanks.

Update Version 2: Some changes in kick drum, tons and right guitar

Update Version 3: Revision with several notable changes and a bit of automation on keyboards

.mp3    Umphrey\'s McGee - Crucial Taunt - MIX by PHK.mp3 --  (Download: 11.5 MB)

.mp3    Umphrey\'s McGee - Crucial Taunt - MIX by PHK V2.mp3 --  (Download: 11.5 MB)

.mp3    Umphrey\'s McGee - Crucial Taunt - MIX by PHK V3.mp3 --  (Download: 11.5 MB)

I haven't heard this song other than your mix. This sounded absolutely fantastic to me.
I only have one suggestion...take the weight of the kick (40ish Hz) down just a bit (maybe quarter or half dB?). I wouldn't want it quieter, it was just a little too weighty. This is really nit picking I know.
On a personal note, as a drummer I've never been a fan of LCR panning with cymbals or toms and I struggle with any song that uses it. However, it fits really well with this song and mix. If that kick wasn't a touch too weighty to me...this is as pro as I know.

I do seem to hear some pops or clicks periodically. Could be my system...like first is around 19 second mark.
Comments are my personal opinion intended to help. I listened to your mix in studio on:
Yamaha HS80M/HS10W through a Focusrite Scarlett 18i6 or
Sennheiser HD600 or HyperX Alpha headphones
all with and optionally without Sonarworks software.

MITB enthusiast, FOH Sound Engineer, Drummer
(23-01-2023, 08:36 PM)Drummer Craig Wrote: I haven't heard this song other than your mix. This sounded absolutely fantastic to me.
I only have one suggestion...take the weight of the kick (40ish Hz) down just a bit (maybe quarter or half dB?). I wouldn't want it quieter, it was just a little too weighty. This is really nit picking I know.