Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pedaling Prince Mix: Traffic Experiment - Sirens
I am self-taught both in video/film editing and audio engineering, having been experimenting with audio and video since my teen years back in the 1980s.

My guiding principle in mixing I call the "principle of least treatment."

Having heard the crystal clean sound of CDs from the earliest days of consumer digital sound in the 80s, comparing it to the overprocessed, overcompressed mess many commercial mixes are today, I have come to believe that current mixing techniques rely too heavily on processing, particularly in the use/abuse of compression in mastering.

In general, I go as gently as possible on all processing, using only the minimum EQ, automation and compression necessary to get everything to blend smoothly, and under no circumstances do I EVER apply processing or compression of ANY kind at the mastering stage; my goal is to preserve 100% of the dynamics of the original recording.

I joined this forum in order to get all of YOUR thoughts on what I've done with these multitracks. Criticism is welcome so long as its polite and constructive. Smile

The theme of this song seemed identical to Georgia Wonder's "Siren," only this time from the sailor's point of view as opposed to the siren's. That having been said, I felt that Traffic Experiment's "Sirens" needed the sound of ocean waves, just as Georgia Wonder's "Siren" did. Generally I don't make additions like that to a mix; I prefer to work only with what the artist gave me in order to preserve the artist's original intent. However, I would like to think that Traffic Experiment would like what I've done here. Blush

I also did some minor editing here to give this song a more dramatic ending. I know when *I* listened to this all the way through for the first time it made the hair on the back of my neck stand up...

What do YOU think? Wink

.m4a    08 Sirens.m4a --  (Download: 17.2 MB)

John A. Ardelli