Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pedaling Prince Mix: Human Radio - You & Me & The Radio
I am self-taught both in video/film editing and audio engineering, having been experimenting with audio and video since my teen years back in the 1980s.

My guiding principle in mixing I call the "principle of least treatment."

Having heard the crystal clean sound of CDs from the earliest days of consumer digital sound in the 80s, comparing it to the overprocessed, overcompressed mess many commercial mixes are today, I have come to believe that current mixing techniques rely too heavily on processing, particularly in the use/abuse of compression in mastering.

In general, I go as gently as possible on all processing, using only the minimum EQ, automation and compression necessary to get everything to blend smoothly, and under no circumstances do I EVER apply processing or compression of ANY kind at the mastering stage; my goal is to preserve 100% of the dynamics of the original recording.

I joined this forum in order to get all of YOUR thoughts on what I've done with these multitracks. Criticism is welcome so long as its polite and constructive. Smile

This is my mix of Human Radio's "You & Me & The Radio."

.m4a    01 You & Me & the Radio.m4a --  (Download: 12.39 MB)

John A. Ardelli
Pedaling Prince Pictures
http://www.youtube.com/user/PedalingPrince
Lovely mix John! I would only say for my taste the fx on the vocals is too much and at parts I cant understand the words, it make it too blurry.
The balance you got on the instruments is really nice. And the kick sounds great! Good job mate
(20-04-2014, 03:23 PM)Cefe Wrote: I would only say for my taste the fx on the vocals is too much and at parts I cant understand the words, it make it too blurry.

I was trying to duplicate the vocal effect found in the preview of the song. Actually, I had more trouble with the vocals on this mix than any of the 128 mixes I've done so far.