Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pedaling Prince Mix: Voelund - Comfort Lives in Belief
I am self-taught both in video/film editing and audio engineering, having been experimenting with audio and video since my teen years back in the 1980s.

My guiding principle in mixing I call the "principle of least treatment."

Having heard the crystal clean sound of CDs from the earliest days of consumer digital sound in the 80s, comparing it to the overprocessed, overcompressed mess many commercial mixes are today, I have come to believe that current mixing techniques rely too heavily on processing, particularly in the use/abuse of compression in mastering.

In general, I go as gently as possible on all processing, using only the minimum EQ, automation and compression necessary to get everything to blend smoothly, and under no circumstances do I EVER apply processing or compression of ANY kind at the mastering stage; my goal is to preserve 100% of the dynamics of the original recording.

I joined this forum in order to get all of YOUR thoughts on what I've done with these multitracks.

This is my mix of Voelund's "Comfort Lives in Belief." I originally posted this in a reply to Voelund commenting on my mix of Uncle Dad's "Who I Am" but Ollie H. requested I post it here for more detailed discussion. Wink

Criticism is welcome so long as its polite and constructive. Big Grin

.m4a    10 Comfort Lives in Belief.m4a --  (Download: 7.96 MB)

John A. Ardelli
Pedaling Prince Pictures
http://www.youtube.com/user/PedalingPrince
Works fine to me the way it is.

Some personal prerences:

Fills: With this bluesy song I think it's more interesting if there's only one solo guitar player. Even better would be if the fills sounded like played by singer by himself. It would make nice blues style focus to one person.