Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First time posting a mix
I've been mixing various tracks from this website for years now, and this is the first time I've felt confident enough to post one.

A beautiful little tune that I grew to like more as I mixed it - usually it's the opposite!

I tried to feature the lovely vocals, and made great use of my favourite plugin - the mute button! I got rid of all the BVox, and the 2nd vocal in certain places where I felt it was taking away from the emotion of the main vocal. I also made a pretty significant change to the intro - especially considering I'm a drummer!

Any and all feedback will be appreciated.
Thanks,
Paul

.mp3    Prodigal.mp3 --  (Download: 6.75 MB)

It works. I like the shorter intro. The modulation on the vocal might be a bit much. Maybe I'm more noticing volume change when it comes in. It seems to call attention to itself more than supporting the vocal. But I like high-lighting the different sections. When the drums drop out later on it feels a little abrupt. In general I think it could use more of the overheads. I'm missing the time keeping and brightness of the ride/hat throughout the song. They add some liveliness that this song needs. It feels better at the end but he's playing harder and I think he switched over to sticks from bundles(?) by that point. But I might be confusing that with another tune. I'm also missing the BGVs but I think it might be just because I'm used to them.

Overall it feels good.