Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Black Crown - Cage (FINAL MIX)
I think v5 is going to be my final mix on this one, this track has grown on me a lot, I really quite like it

thanks for listening, hope you like it

.mp3    TheBlackCrown-Cage v3.mp3 --  (Download: 6.01 MB)

.mp3    TheBlackCrown-Cage v4.mp3 --  (Download: 6.01 MB)

.mp3    TheBlackCrown-Cage v5.mp3 --  (Download: 12.09 MB)

pretty solid mix.. not sure how I feel about that hihat being to the left.. personal taste though. I like the crispness of the voice.. any tips on how you got that sound?
(08-06-2020, 04:09 AM)Shul Wrote: pretty solid mix.. not sure how I feel about that hihat being to the left.. personal taste though. I like the crispness of the voice.. any tips on how you got that sound?
Hey, Shul

Thanks so much for your feedback, I'm a drummer lol so I guess I'm just predisposed to having hi-hats in my left ear lol..... for this reason I always try to mix based on drummer perspective... ha

For the vocal, i tried to treat backing vocal 1 with as much importance a the main vocal.... I have 4 vocal busses that all vocal tracks go to in varying amounts.... they are

A Waves Doubler 2 to help thicken up
A verb
A slap style delay
A big stereo delay

for the EQ i boosted at about 200 and 4/5k ish mostly and compressed each vocal track, and then compressed again twice on the vocal bus

I have no idea if I'm doing it right lol, just making it up as i go along

I very much liked the punchyness of the drums in your mix, so for my version 2 i have tried to give the drums a little more punch and clarity as i felt they kind of got lost at times
I have added v4 as my final mix, only change was to make the toms more present as I felt they were a little hidden in mix 3
It's a solid mix still.. Your vocal processing I want to say is on the money. I would love to have those vocals in my mix.. good job!!