Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pauls take
I'm new to mixing... learning a lot from these threads though.

Am I on the right track? be free with any criticism. mistakes are nothing but opportunities for improvement!

.mp3    queen\'s light.mp3 --  (Download: 7.05 MB)

I'm grateful for comments and suggestions. Thank you for listening!
Hi Pauli
Sounds like you are on the right track with your balance ,the volume of your track is very soft , the bass guitar track out of time in the intro Wink !

Please Help Mike Keep This Awesome Educational Site Alive And Become A patron !
https://www.patreon.com/CambridgeMT/posts

(20-12-2013, 08:51 AM)thedon Wrote: Hi Pauli
Sounds like you are on the right track with your balance ,the volume of your track is very soft , the bass guitar track out of time in the intro Wink !

thank you for the reply. I'm not sure whether the bass was tracked out of time or I somehow bumped it accidentally, but I spent a good deal of time fiddling with it (except for the intro apparently Tongue).

as far as softness goes, I was attempting to mix at the recommended low volumes, but I see other posted mixes are generally -6 or -3. is it standard practice on this forum to use a limiter to boost volume for listenability? -18 dB is perfectly listenable on my speakers but I'm finding others are having a hard time catching the quieter details when I'm mixing at those volumes.

as far as track balance, EQ, and compression are concerned, have you any comments or criticisms? please don't hold back!
I'm also noticing after a good night's rest and a day at work that many of the individual tracks sound quite thin. right now I'm thinking I might have overdone it a little bit with the high pass filters. that's probably why it's often said that you should take frequent breaks when mixing!