Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cage (BCS Mix)
Haven't been around this site for quite a while, and it's good to be back! This is serves as a very warm welcome. A lot has changed, I recently moved to Reaper from Logic (my macbook kinda bottlenecked, hindering my skill), and this is my very first time using fancy analog plugins, Slate Digital! I've never had this much fun mixing in a long time. Very eye opening, and humbling experience. Those who say it's not about the plugin, but the mixer, you're very much wrong lol. Analog is sought after, even after the disruption of digital age, for a reason, that's coming from me who was a skeptic in this matter. They just DO sound better! I couldn't even begin to imagine how more hi-end stuff like UAD sounds.

Anyway, I digressed. Here is my mix of 'Cage' by The Black Crown. I remember mixing their another track over a year ago. Very great band, great overall production performance albeit pitchy vocals in some parts.

Hope you enjoy listening. Feel free to tell me what you think of the mix, and if you also use these type of fancy plugins this noebie would really appreciate some advice!

Update(Mix 2.5) : I back off the bass and kick a bit. That sould make the mix sound wider and a little less congested. Also trim the volume down to -10 LUFS, which is my usual mastering level, so make sure you lower the volune of the first mix a bit when comparing the two.

.mp3    Cage (BCS Mix).mp3 --  (Download: 12.11 MB)

.mp3    Cage (BCS Mix 2.5).mp3 --  (Download: 12.11 MB)

That's a really good mix!
Some things you might try to see if it work for you. The clean guitars in the beginning a bit up, they are a bit low right now to the drums. Not sure if the vocal might have a touch to much air. The distorted guitars are perhaps a little to loud in the chorus, perhaps just bring them up only in the beginning when they chime in. Those are all fine tuning things which may or may not turn for the better. Again good job!