Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Oldchap's one
Hello, here is the SoS mix I did.

First, thank you for allowing us to practice this way, and thanks to the band.
I haven't seen a forum where introduce myself, so I'm doing it here:
I am a classical musician, guitarist by trade, currently unemployed ‘thanks’ to the covid, and I was finally able to spend time discovering a new software that I did not know: Logic Pro.

It’s my first ever mix I’m doing to be heard by someone, so I’ve had to be very imprecise.
Since I'm not a youngster, I quickly thought of sounds from the beginning of FM when I was a child, with a sound that I thought was "English".
I wanted to find that out a bit.
But as I'm French, I necessarily extrapolated. ^^

Regarding the mix, I did all the levels in mono only, then the pan, then back to mono again.
I did not use virtualizer or imager, which gives a stereo image a little tight I think.

Tell me what you think of this, I am aware, and I spent too much time with this song, so now I don't know.
Smile

.m4a    sOs - rendu.m4a --  (Download: 5.83 MB)

.m4a    SoS- Rendu #2.m4a --  (Download: 6.59 MB)

Hello Oldchap, (sorry, I can't help myself)

It's pretty cool to be able mix tracks like this and then release it to the world I reckon.  It's a great resource we have here for sure.

Listening to this on my Logitechs at work,  this mix is sounding really good and I'm liking it a lot.  Balance, short and long term is great for my ears. I think your mono checks have paid off here.  The only real criticism I have listening on my crappy speakers is with the upper frequency fizz on the bass.  It's probably cutting through a bit too much.  If I find time when I get home,  I'll try and get a proper listen to it.  

Great Job Oldchap!  (I did it again Tongue )
(12-05-2020, 08:19 AM)Dangerous Wrote: Hello Oldchap, (sorry, I can't help myself)