Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Forthcoming Turn - Dwarf mix
Hello guys,

I submit my version of this song to you. I am a beginner, if you have any advice,

please do not hesitate to send it.

I edited a lot on the palm muted parts, trying to remove string noises and time align guitars/bass.

Also I used samples for kick/snare.

BCS: thank you for the tempo map! Smile

.mp3    Silence_is_Near-The_Forthcoming_Turn_Dwarf_Mix_r1.mp3 --  (Download: 11.62 MB)

.mp3    Silence_is_Near-The_Forthcoming_Turn_Dwarf_Mix_r2.mp3 --  (Download: 11.7 MB)

.mp3    Silence_is_Near-The_Forthcoming_Turn_Dwarf_Mix_r3.mp3 --  (Download: 11.66 MB)

Hello dwarf,
Funny, I've also started mixing with that same song, which is far of being the most accessible mix to start with. You've did a great job as I found difficult to clean up the guitar parts, not to mention how to deal with the bleed of the drums.
EQ of the different tracks are very nice, though it lacks a little bit of warmth but that's my personal taste.
The only thing I noted is that the snare samples are too robotic (especially on the break parts).
Maybe that's because it is kind of a dry sound, and doesn't blend well with the rest. Kicks are a bit weird if you check at 1m24, when it is played alone but blend well when other
instruments are in.
Check also at 3m54 for the snare, there is one strike that seems out of place or added when it shouldn't.
I suggest applying a little bit of reverb on the snare to make it sound more natural, and messing up with different dynamics, playing with audio gain on each single strike
 to make it more human...
But do not take for granted what I say as I'm also new to mixing  Tongue

Have fun and enjoy!
(30-04-2020, 11:50 AM)registered Wrote: Hello dwarf,