Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dark Ride - Dead Enemies
Thanks to Dark Ride for making these tracks available. I'm a live mixing engineer at a local bar and grill. I've been learning mixing for the past 2 years, and with the recent lockdown, I've been learning how to use Reaper DAW and learning more about mixing from a recording production stand point.

I read the F.A.Q. I'm not a professional mixer either. I found the track a challenge because of all the layers. 55 tracks is a lot compared to what I do in a live setting in a 350+ capacity bar venue.

I didn't read the F.A.Q until after I had already mixed the song, but had already done some of the suggested things like mid heavy solo guitar tones using a Sigma amp sim and some free IRs I found on the internet until some of them worked in the mix, at least to my ears anyways. Feedback is appreciated!

.mp3    Dark Ride - Dead Enemies - Alt Mix 2.mp3 --  (Download: 12.22 MB)

I fixed a couple of the things in this mix, the blast beat snare Blitzzz suggested and the vocal fill at around 1:39 of the song by doing a 4 voice chorus with a bit of delay added to it. Also took the gain down in the solo guitars a bit. Those IR's for them cut well, but tonally I was happy when mixing now listening back might change them again. I don't have this luxury when mixing live, so I get pretty indecisive when I can take my time to change something in a mix!

.mp3    Dark Ride - Dead Enemies - Alt Mix 3.mp3 --  (Download: 12.22 MB)

Hey,