Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Back Down! My mixing i NEED your opinion
Hi all, im pretty new at this and i want learn, this is my mix on the track Back Down from Ryan Cali.
I hope you like but overall leave your opinion i feel is good but im pretty sure with your opinion people i can improve it!!

EDIT: i have to say this isn't my first mix, i make beats but is my first time mixing voices and trying to sound better!!

.mp3    Back Down - Ryan Cali.mp3 --  (Download: 5.54 MB)

Vocals are lacking being the center of attention. Not sure if you're using a delay or reverb on the vocal but it at times seems too noticeable in the wrong kind of way. I think the bass is too loud and messing with the vocals. You have stuff panned but the track doesn't feel "wide", it only feels maybe half wide at best.
(30-06-2019, 03:48 AM)rageix Wrote: Vocals are lacking being the center of attention. Not sure if you're using a delay or reverb on the vocal but it at times seems too noticeable in the wrong kind of way. I think the bass is too loud and messing with the vocals. You have stuff panned but the track doesn't feel "wide", it only feels maybe half wide at best.

Thanks for leave your comment, i will check it and upload a revision checking what u say !
Like the overall balance, the vocals are present (just a little sibilant in the verses, a simple de-essing can take care of that), the kick, the synth bass, and the hihats are well balanced too. What I noticed, is the Synth Bass tend to mud the mix when other tracks are present, I think was near 90-170 Hz. this song dont have a bass track. The unprocessed synth bass track, have a weird movement, if you have a Dynamic EQ or Multiband Compressor, you can make that weird movement to stabilize in the sub frequencies below 60 Hz, and suppress a little the mud in the 90-170 Hz.