Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 2.6 Average
Living in the city - first attempt at a "live" mix
Hello everyone !
It's my first attempt at mixing a track with so much bleeding in the mics, i've never used a gate before ( n00bie ! Big Grin ), but i think it turned out quite well (i think, i'm not very confident in my mix as i'm a beginner )

I tried to cut the vocal tracks to clean them up but i'm not sure this was the best approach on that mix, if you have any advice or comments that would be greatly appreciated Smile the cymbals kick in very strong on the backing vocals :-(

Thank you for listening and for your comments ! Smile

Edit :
new version, after helpful critique Smile

.mp3    Hurray - MAST 1.mp3 --  (Download: 4.82 MB)

.mp3    Hurray for the Riffraff - Living in the City- MAST2.mp3 --  (Download: 4.82 MB)

I've not tried mixing this yet but I'm hoping to find some time tonight. I've never used a gate before either!

I like the balance and stereo position of the guitars, organ and vocals. I think the drums are lacking some punch, espeically the snare. They seems to get lost a little in the in the chorus.
Hey Sanbiki,

I feel you have assebled the tracks provided nicely. The panning is nice and you captured a cohesive sounds. But because the recordings themselfes are not the best I think you could tweak some things:

Overall the mix is a bit muddy or full. Probably lots of low-mid clutter.

The lead vocals sounded very clear to my surprise, although a bit to harsh at times and sit too loud in the mix. The consonants come out pretty aggressively. Maybe try some opto-style compression.

I noticed obvious cut points on the vocals. Maybe crossfade longer and dont kill the noise entirely but reduce it in volume. That way it will sound smoother. In my mix I completly scrapped the BGVs. Way too much bleed to provide anything useful.