Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Actions - 'South Of The Water'
difficult song here... mainly the lead voice. But I think I've managed to make her sound decent.

And there's also something new about this song. It's my first attempt to master! I've read a couple of books and watched some videos; and at least it sounds better than when it was just mixed. But you're the experts here and I truly trust your advice! Wink

.mp3    Actions - South Of The Water.mp3 --  (Download: 6.68 MB)

mixing since April 2013
The delay on the intro is too much,turn the delay down untill the track starts
where it dont notice.Also the bass is a bit lite for me and could do with a bit more kick
to make it a bit more solid.
When you master just try a little multiband comp then a lim just take off about 2 db
And should be good if the eq is all ok.
Hey, Takka! glad to see you around here!!

I didn't like a dry voice, so I've lowered the intro delay and it's more subtle now. I've also changed the bass a little bit and it's more powerful now... so powerful that I think it's gotten too loud. What do you think?

I'm still trying to figure out how (and mainly why) to use a multiband compressor; so I'm trying to find more information about it Smile

mixing since April 2013
Be warned: this is my opinion and Im no mastering engineer, just a musician lovin to record and mix.

putting a multibandcompressor set on some default setting on your 2 bus and a limiter takin about 2 dB is not gonna do any harm - but:

If you dont know what youre doing and why I think its a wise decision to not do it. Before you know more.

I can tell you my usual master chain, but it changes with the song and the mood of the day.

compresser takin between half and one dB, just to tighten things up.
eq, usually boost of highs with low q.
limiter.

If I add saturation I do it first link in the chain. I may substitute the compressor with a multiband, or use both.