Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Burial of Silence Mix
DAW: Reaper

Plugins used: Fabfilter ProQ2, Slate (VTM, VBC, Virtual Mix Rack, everything), Drum Leveler, Wilkinson Debleeder, GGate, Red3 Comp, EZDrummer for triggers on kick and toms.

This is my first time mixing real drums, so I'm really not sure how you guys tame bleed in the overheads but, especially with that loud ass HH which was remarkably quiet on the HH channel. EDIT: oh, by triggering. lol.

Anyway, I'll go through my whole process if anyone asks, but here's a first attempt.

v2 saw the lpf brought back on the guitar bus to about 8k. took a little out of the 5-6k range.

triggered replacements using EZ for kick and toms, because the toms in this just weren't super fun for me. i'm still not quite sure how to make the overheads sound better. i feel like the cymbals only show through sometimes.

i also took a liberty with a part in the vocals and added some hopefully subtlefx.

v4: dialed vocal presence back a bunch because it was harsh to listen to. added some light ambience with ezmix to the vocals and used automation with delay on a few parts that i wanted to sound bigger.

did an air boost at about 16k per theneverscene's recommend.

fiddled with the drums more.

guitars, i messed with the faders and tried to subtract some more harshness. they're still too dark for my tastes but they don't hurt the ear anymore, i don't think.

v4a i'm bad at low end.

v4b i'm BAD at low end. today i learned about serial compression bass tracks. messed with levels and bass.

.mp3    BurialOfSilence.mp3 --  (Download: 5.99 MB)

.mp3    BurialOfSilencev2.mp3 --  (Download: 5.99 MB)

.mp3    BurialOfSilencev4.mp3 --  (Download: 5.97 MB)

.mp3    BurialOfSilencev4a.mp3 --  (Download: 5.97 MB)

.mp3    BurialOfSilencev4b.mp3 --  (Download: 5.97 MB)

Guitars are overpowering the mix in my opinion (opposite of yours of my mix Big Grin), they could be quieter and EQ'ed some more to kill some harsh 4k-ish frequencies.