Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
September Trance mixdown by total EDM Newbie (Mix 2 added) I'd love some feedback :)
Hey there Smile
This is a really, really interesting project for me, I've never ever put my hands on any kind of edm whatsoever before, my background is being a home-recording rock/metal guitar player who has been getting more and more into mixing and mastering for about a year...
Therefore I'm most interested in receiving actual criticism, so if any of you notice any obvious beginner mistakes, please tell me, because it was so much fun that I want to get into mixing/making trance, especially psytrance and other edm stuff a whole lot more in the future, this track really hooked me up to it Big Grin

edit: I've done another mix trying to make the kick and bass more audible, it's far from perfect, but I think it has a really nice psychedelic goa vibe now that wasnt even planned, it just happened when I was checking out the presets of Blue Cat Audio's freeware phaser plugin Cool
Cheers Smile

.mp3    J0K3R - September Trance Testmix Master.mp3 --  (Download: 9.04 MB)

.mp3    J0K3R - November Trance Mix2 Master.mp3 --  (Download: 9.1 MB)

Mix two is nice....hats on the left are a little loud....but you've made the bass and kick VERY smooth, which I like quite a bit. When I have a little more time, I'll give you something in depth....just wanted to let you know that somebody is listening :-)
Hey Fleisch Berg, (wie kommt man auf so einen Namen??? xD)

here are my toughts(on mix2). I am no expert in any way, not in mixing and definetly not in mixing electronic music.

Things I'd change:
- Percussion a bit harsh
- Synth Line entering at ~ 0.55 could sound a little fuller and lacks some impact(maybe saturation)
- Harsh High-End
- Ending a bit aprupt (maybe put some automated verb for the main instruments (~ 4:15)
- Just fade out at ~ 4:25 the last 10 seconds dont add anything

Gooood Stuff:
+ Nice Ambience
+ Superb Levels, Dynamic and Tonal Balance