Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Debut post - Still Flyin mix + master
Hello! Smile
New guy here.

Had a great time mixing this, love the genre and the recording was really good.
hopefully I'll have time to do another mix soon.

So what I found most challenging with this mix the way i approached it was maintaining dynamics while still getting that heavy "in yourface" wall of sound. I think mainly because I didn't have a good enough plan for how I was gonna round it up, and probably focused to much on creating my own sound while trying to maintain the integrity of the song. But with that said, I've only done 2 other metal mixes before so I'm still quite happy with the outcome.

Also, mastering mp3 is apparently really hard haha. if anyone got any tips where I can read up on that i'd be grateful.

Feedback is of course welcome Smile

.mp3    The Apprehended - Still Flyin.mp3 --  (Download: 10.48 MB)

Hi Calliii,

To start off, apologies but I'm not technically minded and so I find it difficult to give advice about what to do to change things in your mix. I work entirely by ear myself and so what I can do is give you feedback from the perspective of an end listener.

I like the idea behind the effects you've used throughout this song on vocals and drums. It demonstrates that you have some good ideas for production :-) I think that you may find them working better in the mix with a bit of restraint though. Sometimes too obvious is a bad thing as it jumps out from everything else too much.