Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 2.67 Average
Wall of Death - Femme (Narciso's Mix)
Hey guys! This is my first mix here. I just started recording, mixing and mastering. This is my first try. Let me know what you all think.

I appreciate being here to learn from y'all. Thanks!

UPDATE

There's a new version of the song. Here you have the first and the last version of the mix. Down there you can find the other version for it.

.mp3    Wall of Death - Femme.mp3 --  (Download: 3.44 MB)

.mp3    Wall of Death - Femme (Narciso\'s Mix).mp3 --  (Download: 3.43 MB)

"Do what you love and you don't have to work a day."
I'm an amateur musician and producer, so don't take me too seriously.
Here you have my other mixes!
A bit too overcompressed. Way too loud. Back off a little bit on that.

Aside from that - there's too much going on on the high-end. Feels like cymbals, snare and guitars are fighting too hard for the sames frequencies.
If this is your first mix then it's remarkably good. I don't think it's overcompressed - this is death metal, not jazz or funk. It has to be loud and compressed like 99% of the records of this genre. If you check the dynamic range database and e.g. look for Amon Amarth, Fleshgod Apocalypse, At the Gates, Nile or Carcass, their stuff usually has a dynamic range of 6-7. The record Cannibal Corpse released in 2014 has a dynamic range of only 4 (!).

http://dr.loudness-war.info/album/list?a...arth&album=

Of course the trick is not to squash the mix in a bad way and have the bus compressor pumping like crazy.

@mall of death: what monitors do you use? I ask because your mix sounds like it was mixed on consumer speakers and it's lacking bass & high end. That could be the reason why you think there is too much high end present in this mix.