Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
'Through My Eyes' Chorus only mix (I'm a real amateur!)
OK..Still lots to do but ideas so far?Confused (Basic Cubase 5 out of the box. No extra plugins). (1st post on site)

.mp3    Master1a.mp3 --  (Download: 2.39 MB)

Hi there Cobbers You've done not too bad a job on the balance between the instruments, though I would like to hear the drums a bit louder. Your mix sounds bass light to me and there seems to be a lot of hi mid frequencies in your mix, especially the vocals, around 1k to 3k which I think need pulled back. Hope this helps a little !
Yes. It is bass light. You could bring up the kick and the bass quite a bit more for balance.
To mix or not to mix ... mix!
Thanks for comments - will try all those things although Bass is fairly loud in my headphones. I know I reduced it towards the end is it was overpowering other things. My mission here was to make the vocals interesting..as I think Mike Senior put it..Fairy Dust. Some mixes seem to have very powerful vocals...I'm struggling to achieve that.
There is no bass in the mix,overpowering your headphones?
OK well here's another try. Kick and Snare up in the mix as suggested. Vocals cut 1k to 3k as Sano suggested - oops..I had boosted here to make it stand out. The Bass I think comes over more in this version..but it is there Takka360. I've been more subtle at the mastering stage this time. Will try different headphones during the week. Mine are Samson Studio Reference Headphones CH70. With these taking the bass higher ruins the song. We may need to disagree on that one. Would value any more comments on the main others. There seemed to be a lot of guitar parts in this one which I have mainly left in the background..or just cut out. Practice is the key so I'll have ago at some other songs. Thanks for all comments.Smile

.mp3    Master 4a.mp3 --  (Download: 2.52 MB)