Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Voi Che Sapete - Olli H
I had no clue what to do. I listened some Kari Mattila and didn't become any wiser. Then I just decided to think that this is just music just like any other music. Then it was easier.

So first of all, I wanted to have 5 meters safety distance to singer.
But focus should be all the time in the vox.
Then I tried to take care that vox is not moving in sound field too much. And lastly I tried to "automatically" automate piano fills, ie. I sidechained compressor so that small riffs and fills here and there would be a bit louder when the lady takes breath.

.mp3    opera-2016-10-19-olli-h.mp3 --  (Download: 5.72 MB)

I think you've achieved a very good ambience. I'm no expert in classical music, but at least, I didn't find any technical thing that distracted me. Maybe just the reverb tail was a little bit long for my taste, but that's something personal.
mixing since April 2013
THanks
I'm not surprised if the tail is too long. I'm currently testing variations of "Bonham snare reverb" to each and every possible and impossible place. So you'll hear too long tails in couple of more mixes from me, until I found some new dead ideas to test Smile BTW I bought a week ago SPL De-Verb ("Reduce Reverb & Room Tone Quickly & Easily") with 9 euros. I forgot that I bought it so haven't tried it yet, but I'm sure I'll soon find some ways to abuse it.
let me know if it's good. I'm sure it will be very useful!!
mixing since April 2013
Also not being an expert in this type of music and listening in a non critical environment, I think what you have done works quite well. There is a great sense of contained space around the performance, most noticeable with the piano and the vocal that I like. This makes it easy and somewhat natural for me to visualize the performance as I'm listening.

Dave