Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I'm Alright
Here's my attempt of this mix. Looking forward for any advice constructive criticism. I'm looking to learn from you guys Smile

.mp3    I\'m Alright.mp3 --  (Download: 6.85 MB)

When I listen to this my first question is what playback system were you listening on when you did this? In places it works. In others it's way too compressed and the freq balance especially in the low mids is off. I think you missed the mark on this try but I see light at the end of the tunnel.
PreSonus Studio One DAW
[email protected]
I'm using a Yamaha HS 5 with a non treated room. Just a regular home recording studio xD. Any advice to how I can fix the low mids? Cause I'm fairly new to mixing.
I like the balance you have in the freq spectrum, but this is hyper-compressed! I know sometimes it might sound better when it's loud, but I would suggest avoiding limiting everything to 0dBFS at the end.

I try to start with a headroom of around 10dB and in the end I have a "normal" dynamic range so that when I "master" I can get it louder without over compressing.

Just an idea! Smile
(04-03-2016, 08:39 AM)gkallergis Wrote: I like the balance you have in the freq spectrum, but this is hyper-compressed! I know sometimes it might sound better when it's loud, but I would suggest avoiding limiting everything to 0dBFS at the end.

I try to start with a headroom of around 10dB and in the end I have a "normal" dynamic range so that when I "master" I can get it louder without over compressing.

Just an idea! Smile

For the Mix Buss I'm using 2 Multiband Compressor Just to limite the High Freq so I won't get the harshness at about 2-5k and a comp just to glue them back and the limiter for the loudness. I don't know if thats what causing to becoming over compressed. Is 2 multiband comp too much? any suggestion for not getting a mix too over compressed.