Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Promises and Riffs
I really like the GTR solos, very well done.

This is an excellent song all around with the exception of a droning bass line throughout most of the song.

But what do I know.

.mp3    Jonny Locke Promises and Lies.mp3 --  (Download: 10.68 MB)

My Original Music

"One often learns more from ten days of agony than ten years of contentment."

Pro Tools 12.6/Studio One 3 Pro
Studiolive 16 Series III
Yamaha HS5/HS8
Console 1
I'll be brutually honest, your bass guitar during the verses sound like you stuck a mic in a beach ball then sat it on top of the bass amp Tongue

The rest of the mix feels pretty good and fairly evenly balanced. The bass is my only gripe Smile some sort of weird resonance to it that just doesn't sit quite right. Perhaps look at your compressor settings?

I'm no expert and I still need plenty of practice myself, but I thought I'd chip in my 2 pence.
(03-01-2016, 12:28 AM)tomtomtom1230 Wrote: I'll be brutually honest, your bass guitar during the verses sound like you stuck a mic in a beach ball then sat it on top of the bass amp Tongue

The rest of the mix feels pretty good and fairly evenly balanced. The bass is my only gripe Smile some sort of weird resonance to it that just doesn't sit quite right. Perhaps look at your compressor settings?

I'm no expert and I still need plenty of practice myself, but I thought I'd chip in my 2 pence.
Thanks for taking the time to listen to my mix. I like everything about it, including the bass and if I were to change anything it would be the to bring the bass vol. down maybe -2db and mid range of the solo guitar around 400-650 hz. -3db.

If want to be brutally honest, then be succinct and not provide some ill thought out