Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My first try
This is my first attempt at DAW
Let me know what you think please

.mp3    untitled.mp3 --  (Download: 4.5 MB)

Hey Kevin,

welcome to this site! You just made my day and ruined my night :-) Here's how. I scanned today's posts, knowing that I should go straight to bed and would not have time to actually listen to any new mix. As I usually don't these days. But I saw with delight that "Good Time" is again receiving some well-deserved attention, started your mix through the PC speakers and... WOW!

So I did my usual homework for this song: set up a DAW project, downloaded all the mixes, aligned their timing and level and then soloed through them through proper monitors to get an idea of the differences.

I like most of the mixes, but yours has a special quality to it that beats all of the others, for me anyway: the dominance of guitar texture! It is like good fast food (I think I used hamburger analogies before): it is supposed to be greasy, it is supposed to have trans-fats! The drums are supposed to be less prominent. And even the vocals are supposed to get drowned in the deep fryer! I really, really like you mix! You wrote that this is your "first attempt at DAW". If it also is your first attempt at mixing in general, then it is quite an achievement! (Otherwise not that much.)