Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My first mix - Never Say Goodbye
Hey all, this is my first mix of a set of stems. I've been doing a lot of reading and taking courses on Lynda and Coursera to learn music production - this is the first practical use of what I've been able to learn over the past few months.

I thought the vocals were quite harsh on this one, so I did a lot to cut a bunch of the original frequencies and did a bit of clip gain to even them out as much as possible. Same with the backups... I also faded in the opening, since the initial tracks cut into the opening transients...

I couldn't get the toms to have as much separation as I would have liked, so that's something else I would work on.

As I'm new to this, I'd appreciate whatever feedback you can provide. I'm gong to listen to some of the other mixes now to see what the others have done...

Dave

.mp3    Never Say Goodbye.mp3 --  (Download: 12.75 MB)

Hi, I would have liked to produce this result as my first mix ever.

Daring some INITIAL suggestions based on a couple of runs on headphones:
- it looks to me that the kick is a tad louder than bass. I would suggest to review this balance (vol down or compression on kick - or vol up on double bass - I would do adjust a little of both). Kick vol down brings dow the drumset that is also a little loud.
- I'm not sure I can hear correctly but there's some resonance on one of the toms that may be notched (120Hz?)
- I would bring up a tad the string fills that get lost in some essential moments (for example 2:03-2:06)
- while the drumset is pretty dynamic, the lead vox sounds a bit overcompressed
- acoustic guit and lead vox have some extra harshness I would try to smoothen. The vox has some body that can be cranked up that may help making it less teenager-ish.
- a lot is happening in the center and ±30 degrees, I would try to distribute the instruments around the scene