Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Piece Of Me - mixed by mick2015
Greetings once again, metal fans. Another highly enjoyable song to mix from Dark Ride. This song has an excellent dynamic arrangement and really draws the listener into the different aspects and sections of the song. I worked on bringing out the "chewiness" of the guitar to give it some nice mid-range grit and also the overall punch of the track. Tried a few different compressors on the drums to get the sound I was looking for. Hope you enjoy listening and as always, feedback is most welcome.

Cheers guys,
Mick

.mp3    Piece of Me - MIX002 MN.mp3 --  (Download: 12.2 MB)

Hey whats up, I am no expert on mixing so whatever i say is just an opinion and comes down to personal taste.

To me it seems like there is to much mids in your mix or lack of bass. Also it seems like the mix could be spread out more maybe pan some of the instruments away from the center. I like the sound of the snare it has a lot of pop to it and stands out well.

I just did a mix of this song yesterday if you want to check it out and leave some feedback thanks.

Zog

Hey,

thx for your mix. It doesn't have too much mids, it sounds like it has no mids at all =) It's lacking a lot of power in the lower mids on my consumer headphones in the office - like you made a huuuuuge cut around 600 hz on the master bus or something? Did you use a reference track - and if so, which one? Because if you did I´m wondering what kind of song it was? Checking your mix with the original mix of Piece of Me or any other kind of commercial mix I can clearly hear that your mix is lacking a lot of punch and power.
(31-05-2015, 02:10 PM)zog Wrote: Hey whats up, I am no expert on mixing so whatever i say is just an opinion and comes down to personal taste.