Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First mix ever made, hoping for feedback
So im an early student of music engineering. I'm not really familiarized with the post-production work so I've been trying to practice with the multi-traks on this page. This is my fist work. Please feel free to write what you think of ti. All comments are welcome and will help me improve Smile

.mp3    I\'m allright.mp3 --  (Download: 3.42 MB)

Hi and welcome here,

First of all have fun at this site and enjoy what you're doing.

My opinions are:
I find your mix very dark. There's no higend shimmer and air. On the other hand there seems to be much low frequency stuff going on. I can't hear the kick-/bass-drum but the bass-guitar is quiet present. Maybe it's masking the bass-drum? The acoustic guitar is also very dark in my opinion. That's even the case on my headphones which tend to be overly bright.

Secondly, everything sounds completely dry to me. As if the musician's were crowded in front of my face. I don't feel/hear any room here and thus also no depth. But then again, I am a fan of relaxed and airy mixes where the whole stereo field and also the depth of a virtual stage has been used. Maybe that's not what you're after.

That's it for now. I unfortunately don't have time to listen to your mix more carefully. Maybe you can try to implement my thoughts and we could then discuss the new version.

Best regards,
Markus

(16-10-2014, 08:43 AM)orthogonalrecords Wrote: Hi and welcome here,

First of all have fun at this site and enjoy what you're doing.

My opinions are:
I find your mix very dark. There's no higend shimmer and air. On the other hand there seems to be much low frequency stuff going on. I can't hear the kick-/bass-drum but the bass-guitar is quiet present. Maybe it's masking the bass-drum? The acoustic guitar is also very dark in my opinion. That's even the case on my headphones which tend to be overly bright.