Discussion Zone
Pedaling Prince Mix: Uncle Dad - Who I Am - Printable Version

+- Discussion Zone (http://discussion.cambridge-mt.com)
+-- Forum: 'Mixing Secrets' Free Multitrack Download Library: mixing forum (http://discussion.cambridge-mt.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=184)
+--- Forum: Acoustic, Jazz, Country, Orchestral (http://discussion.cambridge-mt.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+---- Forum: Uncle Dad: 'Who I Am' (http://discussion.cambridge-mt.com/forumdisplay.php?fid=28)
+---- Thread: Pedaling Prince Mix: Uncle Dad - Who I Am (/showthread.php?tid=3541)

Pages: 1 2

Pedaling Prince Mix: Uncle Dad - Who I Am - Pedaling Prince - 04-01-2014

I am self-taught both in video/film editing and audio engineering, having been experimenting with audio and video since my teen years back in the 1980s.

My guiding principle in mixing I call the "principle of least treatment."

Having heard the crystal clean sound of CDs from the earliest days of consumer digital sound in the 80s, comparing it to the overprocessed, overcompressed mess many commercial mixes are today, I have come to believe that current mixing techniques rely too heavily on processing, particularly in the use/abuse of compression in mastering.

In general, I go as gently as possible on all processing, using only the minimum EQ, automation and compression necessary to get everything to blend smoothly, and under no circumstances do I EVER apply processing or compression of ANY kind at the mastering stage; my goal is to preserve 100% of the dynamics of the original recording.

I joined this forum in order to get all of YOUR thoughts on what I've done with these multitracks.

This is my mix of Uncle Dad's "Who I Am." Criticism is welcome so long as its polite and constructive. Smile

RE: Pedaling Prince Mix: Uncle Dad - Who I Am - ERJEE - 05-01-2014

Solid mix!

My 2 cents:

-Kick feels bit too 'clicky', I'd reduce some of the higher frequencies.
-Backing vocals are too present IMO.