Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Street Noise - Revelations (mixed by carl arsenic)
Curious to hear what feedback you guys have on this. I'm a newbie mixer so complete honesty is appreciated.

.mp3    streetnoise-revelations.mp3 --  (Download: 4.79 MB)

Hi! Welcome to the group!

My quick thoughts:

The guitar in the right channel is up too high.

Vocals could probably come up more but if the guitar goes down, they may be good where they are.

On first listen, your kick drum sounds overcompressed but it *can* work.

The bass really does sound overcompressed. With everything else where it is, try pushing the attack time past 30 milliseconds and see what happens. Flip back and forth wuth where you have it now and see if you can't hear the difference. Then when you get that where you feel good with it, try bringing either the ratio down or backing off on the threshold.

Also, watch out for the buildup at about 250-300 Hz. That can quickly sap the presence in your mix. Now some tones in that area do belong there so don't overdo it but be aware of how quickly the different instruments can throw energy at that area of the sound spectrum.

It's a good start, though. Give it another run through and see what you end up with. (An ddon't forget to occassionally listen to music you *know* from the same speakers/headphones to recalibrate your ears as you work.)

So tell us what you felt was the greatest challenge you had with this mix? What made you really furrow your eyebrows and work at it? What were you pleased with? What felt right to you about your final mix?
Old West Audio
Thanks for all the tips, I will try them out and see how it goes. I really appreciate you taking the time to help me out.