Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
More questions than answers
Good afternoon everyone,
I am new to Pro Tools and this digital mixing routine. Just got started on this tune and am having a hard time with the guitar intonation. I notice that most of the mixes here have addressed this successfully.
Could I get some recommendations on best practices for pitch issues?

As always, the NOOB will take any advice given to keep me moving forward.

Added v5. I hope this shows improvement.

Thank you all in advance,

Curley

.mp3    THE LONG WAIT-BACK HOME TO BLUE_V5.mp3 --  (Download: 3.82 MB)

The bass was where I found the intonation issues. Just set a pitch corrector plugin on it and seemed to be good to go (at least to my ears).
Thanks for taking a listen. I've done two tunes from this band and the electric guitars have been somewhat off on each tune.

Questions: How do you determine key signature for Auto-Tune?
If you don't know key signature, will C Chromatic do in a pinch.

Thanks to all of you for your help. I'm pretty green at this point but having a ball with the learning process.

Curley
Hello!

I am using Pro Tools, too - i do not think that there is a tuning plugin coming with pro tools - as always, you have to buy it extra. (In Cubase for example, there is one or even two) Maybe there is a freeware for it.

You could use a better quality mp3 (256 kBit or higher) - there are some things quite hard to hear in your versions.

The bass drum seems to be over the limit / has distortion in some places. You can avoid this by carefully watching the BD-Level Wink or by putting a limiter in your Master-Channel (Maxim for example)

But do not get me wrong - the general level balance is good. Everything on its way Wink

Maybe this is nothing new, but it is what I thought, listening to the mixdown.

Best regards!
Chris
(16-03-2015, 07:39 PM)Chris V Wrote: Hello!