Poll: Do you like it?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
It's awesome
0%
0 0%
Pretty good for a first pass
0%
0 0%
Eh... not sure if this is the right direction
0%
0 0%
Mix is a bit sloppy
0%
0 0%
Man that sucked, I mean... come on dude!
0%
0 0%
Total 0 vote(s) 0%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sea Of Leaves - 1st pass
Hey guys,

I'm a bit new to all of this.
Here is a first pass I did on this song.

I'd love to get some feedback.

Thanks!

.mp3    Sea Of Leaves.mp3 --  (Download: 7.33 MB)

Overall, pretty well done - definitely no murkiness or mud i the mix.

The main area I can hear for improvement is the overall spectral balance between the low end & the highs/high mids in the mix. The mix is definitely weighted toward the latter. As a result the high end is quite brash & harsh, so the mix is a little fatiguing to listen to. I'd suggest taming your overheads in particular, as the cymbals really flood the mix during the heavy sections. I think you will find if you tame the OH, you won't need to boost the high mids in the other elements as much to compete, and the result will be a lot more pleasing to listen to.

The low end is also not full sounding enough - The bass and kick need some work to fill out the low end & support the midrange in the mix. I think here is where referencing your mix against similar sounding commercial stuff would be a big advantage in getting things in the ballpark.

On a side note, the mix is pretty loud - I personally haven't got anything against a loud mix that is done well, but I can hear a bit of grittiness & distortion that I think may be the result of the limiter working too hard, so perhaps backing that down some may help too.

If you are new at this, you're doing well - keep it up!
All 10 FytaKyte Multi-Tracks available for you to mix with purchase of Album here: https://fytakyte.bandcamp.com/releases
fHumble fHingaz,

Thank you so much for taking the time.