Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
devils words NEED HELP
hi peeps
here my mix
something seems out of place to me and I don't know what it is so if you have any ideas Please shot then to me iam still very new to mixing audio and never would of started if my dad did not leave me a recording studio when he passed away so as I think he wanted me to keep his dreams alive that's why he left this this to me but before it opens back up I need to practice I've been working with his close friend butch he's a great teacher but very biz doing his band drumming and mixing thing so I turned i this forum for insight

.mp3    devils words.mp3 --  (Download: 7.42 MB)

I'd like to start off by saying I'm no pro mixing engineer, just a guy who loves doing it and is eager to learn. Also, I'm listening to this on headphones because my listening environment sucks.

Having said that, there were some things I liked about the mix and some things I did not prefer. I say prefer because after a certain point its just a matter of taste and not right or wrong. I liked tone and dynamics of the guitar, sounded nice. I felt the drums were a little too washy and sub heavy.. kind of felt like it was under water or floating. For this song I prefer tight punchy drums.

I also thought the vocal reverb didn't quite fit the rest of the mix. It seemed a little short.. like in a bathroom or something. The dynamics of the vocal were good though. I thought the verse guitar clashed a little bit with the vocal.. it was panned right on top of her. I did however really like the compression on it. I had a hard time getting that thing to sit.. the flange makes it hard for me to compress the way I wanted to.

I like the creativity with the tom placement, but it kind of seemed like they were in front of her vocal.. kind of distracted me. I wasn't really into the loop you placed in the bridge.. kind of a different vibe. I see what you were trying to do but I didn't really feel like it fit.