Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My Atrophy Mix
Hello everyone! This is my first mix from this site, and I am kind of a novice at mixing. I am a student, so I don't have a lot of mixes or experience under my belt. This mix took about 3-4 hours for me to finish.
I really love the song. Please take a moment to listen and let me know what I can improve on! I think the toughest thing for me is getting the distorted guitars to sound nice and bright without being harsh and too bright.

Anyways, let me know how I did! And I would love any and all criticism.

.mp3    Atrophy_Mix.mp3 --  (Download: 11.98 MB)

Hello and welcome here.

Let's start with pros : pretty balanced mix. We can hear everything. There is a nice vintage effect with some distortion here and there on the guitars.

Now the cons : the overall EQ is quite muddy. It's like every instruments are fighting to find some space in the mid range. Vocals are very drowned except during the bridge. I'm not a fan of the very little flanger effect or so on the vocals, but I guess it's just a matter of taste.
Did you use a reference track to mix ? It's very important to have some kind of a guide to follow for EQ and how you will place each track.

So not bad for a first mix ! Keep it up !
(27-01-2015, 01:39 PM)Mandubien Wrote: Hello and welcome here.

Let's start with pros : pretty balanced mix. We can hear everything. There is a nice vintage effect with some distortion here and there on the guitars.

Now the cons : the overall EQ is quite muddy. It's like every instruments are fighting to find some space in the mid range. Vocals are very drowned except during the bridge. I'm not a fan of the very little flanger effect or so on the vocals, but I guess it's just a matter of taste.
Did you use a reference track to mix ? It's very important to have some kind of a guide to follow for EQ and how you will place each track.

So not bad for a first mix ! Keep it up !

Hey Mandubien,