Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
My Cnoc An Tursa - Bannockburn mix !
Hello all. First off let me thank Mike Senior and this website for providing very valuable, free mixing education. This is my first time using live drums and DIs. I mostly produce electronic music which is a much different skill set.

Overall the sound was inspired by classic black metal bands like Dissection. I wanted to maintain and highlight the raw and emotional performances provided.

I started with only the drum tracks getting EQ, panning, and phase relationships correct. Compression and saturation here and there, gradually introducing it to individual channels and also eventually in parallel on the bus. I find that overheads are great to compress and are crucial to get right. And just like the guitars, there was selective muting and fading to reduce bleed or give some dynamic contrast.

The bass is a mix of the amped and a reamped DI. These parts carried the low end. The kick drum wasn't overly high passed, probably around 50 Hz.

I initially made the synth strings and choir too thin but they need body because they compete against all these other distorted and full frequency elements. Widened strings using the stereo separation knob.

I added pitched down versions of both the lead and background vocals. They add body, especially when driven. You can use a waveshaper, a compressor, or even a high gain guitar amp. The background vocals have more delay and reverb, and are more stereo for when they come in to make a big impact. They also are bussed together to be compressed and sent to a few different reverbs. Boosting around 600 gives body. They leads are also automated in volume to get temporarily out of the way for the backgrounds.