Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Preach Right Here
Lotsa funky tuning stuff and noise on this track to contend with, but what a great song. Poking my nose around, I think I read this track was recorded in a basement in the late 90s.. that's right around the time I started learning music.

So I did my best to compare my mix to my old Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains, and Stone Temple Pilots CDs... some of the first I ever owned. Like a trip down memory lane, this one.

.mp3    Preach Right Here Master.mp3 --  (Download: 10.42 MB)

I'm grateful for comments and suggestions. Thank you for listening!
Hi Pauli
Well separated mix, takes a little to get used to the harder use of compression, but it sounds cool.
Well thought to make 2nd verse guitar have modulation effect on it.
I miss impact when drums hit, maybe intro is too loud ? Drums are mostly kick and snare now ? Perhaps the OH could come up a bit. To my taste kick dont have to poke that much through, its impressive though.
Its not your mastering, lookin at the soundfile :-)
Maybe help first drumhit a dB or 3 ?
Vocal lvl suits m ears !
Old ears, old gear, little boy inside love music and sounds and my wife, not necessarily in that order
hey Pauli...Nice job here mate.

Well balanced mix. All the instruments sit well together, as do the vox/bgv and harmonies. Love the use of FX on guitar in middle section.

I'm picking up some hiss in the intro and quiet sections at 1.08, 2.16 & 3.10. Maybe some of the tracks needs to be muted. I had a look in my project and I've chopped out a lot dead space in vox, bgvs and instruments.