Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Over The Top
How'd I do? I feel really good about this one.

.mp3    Over The Top Master.mp3 --  (Download: 8.06 MB)

I'm grateful for comments and suggestions. Thank you for listening!
Sounds great,well done.
(15-05-2014, 12:00 PM)takka360 Wrote: Sounds great,well done.

Thank you, man. Blush I greatly respect your opinions and skill, and appreciate all of your feedback... I'm a better engineer than I would have been without the advice.

I think I may have over compressed on this song... My mixing is becoming competent, but my preview mastering still sucks Tongue especially when it comes to limiting. I'd have liked to tame some of the overall harshness of tone a bit more, too, but every attempt just made the instruments in question sound distant and undefined... Any ideas how I might improve that or am I better off leaving it alone?
Better off to do as much as poss in the mix really,multiband compression can work wonders if used right.
It will all come in time don't you worry.
This is your mix with a tad of multi band ,you also had some bad res at around 110 so in future make sure you sweep for that stuff .
I also lp at 50 (rock) and 1 db boost bell 5k and 1 db boost 6k hs 2 db cut 430 , only a quick little job lol.

.mp3    Paul mix.mp3 --  (Download: 9.26 MB)

Good mix you've achieved, Pauli! I like the bass here a lot!
mixing since April 2013
(15-05-2014, 05:38 PM)takka360 Wrote: This is your mix with a tad of multi band ,you also had some bad res at around 110 so in future make sure you sweep for that stuff .
I also lp at 50 (rock) and 1 db boost bell 5k and 1 db boost 6k hs 2 db cut 430 , only a quick little job lol.