Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Pedaling Prince Mix: Triviul feat. The Fiend - Widow
I am self-taught both in video/film editing and audio engineering, having been experimenting with audio and video since my teen years back in the 1980s.

My guiding principle in mixing I call the "principle of least treatment."

Having heard the crystal clean sound of CDs from the earliest days of consumer digital sound in the 80s, comparing it to the overprocessed, overcompressed mess many commercial mixes are today, I have come to believe that current mixing techniques rely too heavily on processing, particularly in the use/abuse of compression in mastering.

In general, I go as gently as possible on all processing, using only the minimum EQ, automation and compression necessary to get everything to blend smoothly, and under no circumstances do I EVER apply processing or compression of ANY kind at the mastering stage; my goal is to preserve 100% of the dynamics of the original recording.

I joined this forum in order to get all of YOUR thoughts on what I've done with these multitracks. Criticism is welcome so long as its polite and constructive. Smile

This was my first time mixing this type of music. The biggest challenge was balancing all those vocal tracks. I think it turned out pretty well; what do you think? Wink

.m4a    13 Widow.m4a --  (Download: 8.75 MB)

John A. Ardelli
Pedaling Prince Pictures
http://www.youtube.com/user/PedalingPrince
Looks like you went with a similar approach to mine. I think you did a very good job balancing the vocals- I found that to be a hurdle myself. leaving the vocal sample dry was an interesting choice and I think you made it work quite well.

My only comments are that there's some sort of processing/modulation on the clav that pokes out a little too much (for my taste) and the backing vocals (stay, staaaaay with me) sound out of phase to me, but that's an easy fix.

good work, john!