Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pedaling Prince Mix: Motor Tapes - Shore
I am self-taught both in video/film editing and audio engineering, having been experimenting with audio and video since my teen years back in the 1980s.

My guiding principle in mixing I call the "principle of least treatment."

Having heard the crystal clean sound of CDs from the earliest days of consumer digital sound in the 80s, comparing it to the overprocessed, overcompressed mess many commercial mixes are today, I have come to believe that current mixing techniques rely too heavily on processing, particularly in the use/abuse of compression in mastering.

In general, I go as gently as possible on all processing, using only the minimum EQ, automation and compression necessary to get everything to blend smoothly, and under no circumstances do I EVER apply processing or compression of ANY kind at the mastering stage; my goal is to preserve 100% of the dynamics of the original recording.

I joined this forum in order to get all of YOUR thoughts on what I've done with these multitracks. Criticism is welcome so long as its polite and constructive. Smile

This is my take on Motor Tapes' "Shore."

.m4a    09 Shore.m4a --  (Download: 9.3 MB)

John A. Ardelli
Pedaling Prince Pictures
http://www.youtube.com/user/PedalingPrince
Hello

Few points or opinions of your mix.
I think the bass has too dominant role in your mix and somehow "boxy" sound. It blend better in the mix during chorus.
The drums sound distant which I think is good for this song but maybe they could be a little louder.
The bvox have space and I think the lead voc could have a little bit more without losing the n:o 1 place in the mix. In chorus I think you need to adjust the lead voc s-limiter a bit. (if any?)