Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pedaling Prince Mix: Johnny Lokke - Whisper to a Scream
I am self-taught both in video/film editing and audio engineering, having been experimenting with audio and video since my teen years back in the 1980s.

My guiding principle in mixing I call the "principle of least treatment."

Having heard the crystal clean sound of CDs from the earliest days of consumer digital sound in the 80s, comparing it to the overprocessed, overcompressed mess many commercial mixes are today, I have come to believe that current mixing techniques rely too heavily on processing, particularly in the use/abuse of compression in mastering.

In general, I go as gently as possible on all processing, using only the minimum EQ, automation and compression necessary to get everything to blend smoothly, and under no circumstances do I EVER apply processing or compression of ANY kind at the mastering stage; my goal is to preserve 100% of the dynamics of the original recording.

I joined this forum in order to get all of YOUR thoughts on what I've done with these multitracks.

This is my mix of Johnny Lokke's "Whisper to a Scream." Criticism is welcome so long as its polite and constructive. Smile

This one was a scream to do (pardon the pun Tongue)! This guy's got that great 80's hard rock sound I used to love growing up! Big Grin

.m4a    04 Whisper to a Scream.m4a --  (Download: 10.49 MB)

John A. Ardelli
Pedaling Prince Pictures
http://www.youtube.com/user/PedalingPrince
Sounds great oldschool - reminds me of some 70s records I really like.
Your very selfrestrictin approach to mixin makes it sound like that I think, when we only have 100% to mix into and guitars can easily fill evrything, especially this kind of music, I dont think its cheat to use compression and something I read in a great book: maximum illusion with minimum voltage, meanin as loud as can be with as little metering as is possible.