Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Yoda's Mix
Hi, this is my first try in this forum. What do you think?

EBU R128 measurements: INT -12.6 LUFS / LRA 9.7 LU / TP -1.0 dB
I aimed at an open sounding mix, whatever that means :-)

Thanks for your comments!

.mp3    01 - Matt Szlachetka - Heart of my hometown 02-Master.mp3 --  (Download: 8.54 MB)

"Es wird immer weiter geh'n, Musik als Traeger von Ideen." ~ Kraftwerk
Hi Yoda.Earth, welcome to the forum! Just a couple things:
Your bass guitar has too much information in the 20hz - 50hz area I think, and the kick drum is not cutting through the mix. I would try increasing the kick drum volume a bit and take it from there, maybe some eq. Overall sounding good!
Nobody cares what plugins you use, it's only what comes out of the speakers that matters.
(20-03-2020, 11:41 AM)Eastwood Wrote: Hi Yoda.Earth, welcome to the forum! Just a couple things:
Your bass guitar has too much information in the 20hz - 50hz area I think, and the kick drum is not cutting through the mix. I would try increasing the kick drum volume a bit and take it from there, maybe some eq. Overall sounding good!
Hi Eastwood, thanks for your input!
I did a new version, not sure if I overdid it, since I'm on headphones. I can hear the difference, just don't know how it translates to (big) speakers.
hi-pass on the bass guitar, peaking filter on the base drum.
What do you think?

.mp3    Matt Szlachetka - Heart of my hometown 04-Master.mp3 --  (Download: 8.54 MB)

Kick drum sounding good! I think you might be able to raise the volume on the bass guitar a few dB, it’s a bit too quiet. The kit sounds really rockin now though! I would just make the snare a few dB quieter and I think you’ll be there. Edit: I’m not 100% on the bass/snare volume adjustments, it sounds better on a second listen but those were my first impressions.
Nobody cares what plugins you use, it's only what comes out of the speakers that matters.
Hi Yoda,