Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Purple Hat Mob: 'Access Denied' - Garrett Victor
Hi friends,

I am a student and as per my assignment, I am instructed to post this for review.

All critiques are welcome/encouraged!

.mp3    Access Denied - Garrett Victor Mix.mp3 --  (Download: 10.84 MB)

Hi!

I think this is a very cool track to mix, and quite challenging.

Ok, these are my immediate thoughts at first listen:

Intro Siren: nice tone, seems like we’re off to a good start!

The drums: pretty good job, nice tones, could perhaps be a touch louder in the mix. Could maybe add a bit more top end to the overheads, I feel, but they are really hard to manage in this mix, I recall there are some quite loud higher frequencies in the raw overheads track, drumsticks catching or something. I think I buried them somewhat in my attempt at this.

Good snare sound. Could maybe dig in a bit with more with the compressor - a bit faster attack and release to get a bit more ‘smack’ out of it. You might be able to experiment and find a nice short ‘splatty’ reverb to put on a send to help it a bit too, rather than just a room verb. If you can find the right reverb you can really get the snare to sound more ‘3D’ and get it to pop out of the mix a bit.

Bass - Nice tone, perhaps could do with a bit more ‘weight’ in the low end though maybe (80hz -ish?). For me the bass and the drums really are the heartbeat and backbone of this track, and really act as a bed for everything else.

Intro - Guitar chords a touch loud for me I think when they first come in, but nicer balance later on. Balance is much better around the 3:40 mark, for example, although the synth line is a touch hot for me there. Again, nice tones I think.