Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rumba Chonta - Mixed by Artbass
Hi all,

so after what seems like ages I finished another song for you to criticise. After working on my band's stuff I needed a break from mixing. Remind me never to mix Progressive Rock again... Big Grin

Anyway, I'm no expert in latin music but I occasional visit a world beat party to have some fun and to forget about my rock background for a while. I also had some deep thoughts about "world music" while writing my master thesis. It was interesting to revisit these thoughts while mixing this tune.

My main problem here was the fact, that the tracks seemed not to belong together at first listen. It surely needs some getting used to the instrumentation, but mostly it needed the mixer's best friend: balance (and some reverb and compression...).

So with my European ears, that know nothing, this is what I came up with.

Cheers
Artbass

.mp3    RumbaChontaM1_Artbass.mp3 --  (Download: 7.65 MB)

Hi!

Like your mix!

Panning for me is a little to much drastically for my ears but is my personal taste on that Wink

All best

Jacques
Hi Artbass !
Nice to hear another mix I know nothing about this genere ,nice clean sounding mix and the the bass sounds great especially the upper bass notes and the slap Big Grin !

Please Help Mike Keep This Awesome Educational Site Alive And Become A patron !
https://www.patreon.com/CambridgeMT/posts

Thanks guys.

Panning is LCR. It does speed up my mixing process but I've noticed that there are people out there, that do not like it.

That slap bass needed a good dose of compression...
(06-11-2013, 11:55 AM)Artbass Wrote: Thanks guys.

Panning is LCR...

That slap bass needed a good dose of compression...